Future Shock

In the best seller ‘Future Shock’ author Alvin Toffler, “argued that society is undergoing an enormous structural change, a revolution from an industrial society to a super-industrial society. This change overwhelms people. He believed the accelerated rate of technological and social change left people disconnected and suffering from “shattering stress and disorientation”—future shocked. Toffler stated that the majority of social problems are symptoms of future shock.” (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Future_Shock)

As I read about the many struggles we are going through in our nation and the many social problems we face I wonder if it is because of this disorientation of rapid change. Or is there another more fundamental reason? I read with alarm the public outcry against the recent overturning of judgements that have re-criminalised homosexual relationships. I am troubled that this is lumped with a number of other offensive social troubles. And I am searching for a moral reaponse that condemns the wrong but accepts the wrong-doer as a person created (however broken) in the image of God.

The real future shock is in what the bible tells us the future will really bring, the return of the Lord Jesus Christ to judge the living and the dead. Today as I finish the year’s full bible reading plan with the final chapters of Revelation I am personally even more convinced that the only hope for morality and righteousness for individuals and consequently natuons is found in Jesus Christ alone. A nation which veers away from the biblical basis for life so brilliantly demonstrated by the Lord Himself when He condoned the sin but forgave the sinner and accepted him as gospel story after story illustrates is not well prepared for the real future shock. The real future shock is going to be at the return of the Lord. And the only way we can prepare for that is to live with this promise of the Lord Himself when He said:

“Look, I am coming soon, bringing my reward with me to repay all people according to their deeds. Revelation 22:12 (NLTse)

What rewards will he bring me? Us? My family? My nation? Perhaps the best thing I can do in 2014 is to pray for all of the above that we will be better prepared so that instead of future shock, the coming of the Lord will be a future joy! 

Image courtesy: http://www.cesar.ws/wp-content/uploads/2013/06/1695307-future-shock-at-40-what-the-tofflers-got-right-and-wrong-rotator.jpg

Leave a comment